. . SPOONT. - COBALT (oberlin band cuteness) - ALL ABOUT HER - guestbook dude! - random facts (pt. 1) - (pt. 2) - de email eh?
[sayin goodbye, leaving tonite,]
August 2, 2003 - 2:19am

now is the time when i ignore the 50's of stickers, flyers, and cd's cluttering my floor and talk about the warped tour, which, coincidentally, was wednesday.

i almost couldn't sleep the night before, but i made it until my 9:05am wakeup call. avi, andrew (not my brother), lauren, andrew (my brother), loaded up the car and headed out at 10:20ish. the hour long drive was soundtracked by such bands as 1905, the black eyes, the suicide machines, rancid, and of course that 'black betty song' that is so good. rancid was the choice of the 'punk rock zone' located in the back bench of my car (hint: it did not include me or lauren).

anyyhow. as soon as we got there, our 'free stuff' detectors went into the red zone, and we headed for the..free stuff. and boy did we ever get it. it was as if a glorious plague of rain was falling down upon us, and instead of water, it was stickers and flyers and buttons and cd demos. yeah...kinda like that. then, at some point, andrew w.k. played some music. and i was not impressed. even 'party hard' wasn't good. it just seemed like there was no energy, and so we waited in line to meet/ greet less than jake. lauren and i both got everyonesss autograph (me on my CLEAR VINYL REPRESS OF PEZCORE OMG). hmm my memory is slowwwly dying away because i'm tired....

we watched 'big d and the kids table', this amazing ska band from california, and that was totally rockin. after that, it was approximately time for less than jake to playyy, and they did. i went in to tear it up (naturally), and i saw jon, mario, nick, and a few others i recognized, and then elizabeth gossens! which was very odd. they played 'gainsville rock city,' 'all my best friends are metalheads,' 'look what happened,' 'my own worst enemy,' 'johnny quest..,' and 'al's war' to close of the set with a giantttt circle pit. which was cool until some people fell down and we had to rescue them from being trampled. but if all goes as planned, i will be appearing in the warped tour video screaming like an idiot. look for me- i'll be the one with the mouth and hair and shirt. i got a huge cramp during the beginning, and my shoe fell off twice, but i didn't stop. then i made some friends because i was wearing 'go veg!' stickers. after ltj we got some free yoohoo and water and bathroom and easy mac, watched an awesome space-rock band called the phenomenauts (soooo excellent), and met lots of bands. rancid played 3rd to last, as it was getting dark, so we sat down, relaxed, and listened. i actually enjoyed their set a lot. mostly because i knew all the songs they played, and it took me back to 8th/9th grade. they played 'radio radio radio,' 'ruby soho!!!!!@!)(*#!)(* (my favorite rancid song), 'roots radicals,' 'maxwell murder,' and 'time bomb.' maybe some others, but i forget. it made me smile. me first were EXCELLENT as usual, and they had their own tiki bar set up on stage. the ataris made me very unhappy. they did NOT play 'hey kid', and that is just unnaceptable. they seriously should have consulted me before the show. there were lots of stupid little girls around me (you know the type- they hear a 'punk band' on the radio once and think they are fans and then go to the show only to get beat up by..me) and i hate them. sooo we left. anddd went to subway. and it was soooo good. because i hadn't eaten all day except for a sample easy mac. and thusly concludes the warped tour summary.

OH. except on the way home lauren and i reinvented the 'cool by association' cd (a band we met there). they say the word 'goodbye' a lot, so we redid all the tracks with just 'say goodbye' and various harmonies/ screaming. it almost made me cry tears of happiness when we pulled into her driveway and the last song ended and we both whispered 'goodbye' at the same exact time. wow.

that's all i can say. i'm going to the beach in 11 minutes. i'll be back next saturday. have a lovely week.

batman (0 so far)


archives - newest - profile - rings - notes - design - reviews! - diaryland
. . back - onward - into the mystic [random] .